• Black Music Honors


Nashville, Tenn. (August 16, 2018) – Central City Productions will pay tribute to Bobby Brown, Dallas Austin, Faith Evans, Whodini and Bebe and Cece Winans, during the Black Music Honors, a live taping television special that will take place on Thursday, August 16, 2018, at the Tennessee Performing Arts Center (TPAC) in Nashville, TN. In celebration of 40 years in the entertainment industry (1978) and 32 years as a solo artist (1986), Bobby Brown will be the recipient of the R&B Soul Music Icon Award. The incomparable Gospel duo, Bebe and Cece Winans, will be co-honorees of the Gospel Music Icon Award; trailblazers, Whodini, will walk away with the Hip Hop Icon Award; and chart-topping music producer and label executive, Dallas Austin will be presented with the Music Innovator Icon Award. The two-hour event will acknowledge these legendary African American artists who have made significant musical contributions to African American culture and American music worldwide. Rickey Smiley, television and radio personality and singer, actress LeToya Luckett, will return as co-hosts of the show set to air on broadcast syndication, Sept. 1-30, 2018. Proceeds from the tickets sales benefit the National Museum of African American Music, scheduled to open in Nashville, TN, in 2019. The Tennessee Performing Arts Center (TPAC)r, 505 Deaderick St., in Nashville. Doors open at 6 p.m. with the show taping at 7 p.m. JUST ANNOUNCED – A PERFORMANCE BY BELL, BIV, DEVOE (BBD)! Hosted by Rickey Smiley and LeToya Luckett, BMH is a 2-hour television special honoring legendary African American icons who have influenced and made significant contributions to American music. 2018 Honorees include: Dallas Austin, Bobby Brown, Faith Evans, Stephanie Mills, Whodini and BeBe and CeCe Winans. Also scheduled to appear: V. Bozeman, Young Buck, Keyshia Cole, Raheem DeVaughn, Monie Love, Demetria McKinney, Jonathan McReynolds, NEXT, Jade Novah, Tasha Page-Lockhart, Ruben Studdard, Yo Yo, Angela Winbush, Koryn Hawthorne, Regina Belle, Kierra Sheard, Doug E. Fresh, Donnie McClurkin and many more! Tickets are available now at the Tennessee Performing Arts Center